Back to articles



President Peter Barr presided at the monthly business meeting of the Rotary Club of Chesterfield held at the Olde House, Newbold, on Friday 18 May 2018. The meeting also incorporated the club's AGM. 


Information Boards


Information boards circulated:-  the attendance sheet; club calendar of events and duties, news of the Chesterfield Inner Wheel Charter at Ringwood Hall Hotel on Sunday 3 June to which rotarians are invited, volunteers required for the club’s Eckington Classic Car & Bike Show at Renishaw Hall on Wednesday 13 June.


Annual General Meeting (AGM)


The president gave his personal annual report on the past Rotary year, in which he thanked various members for the key roles they had successfully fulfilled. He then formally opened the AGM, and the minutes of the 2017 AGM, read out by secretary John Hare, were approved by the members.


1.     Officers & Council Members 2018-19


Officers and council members elected for the Rotary Year 2018-19 were honorary secretary Mike Cudzich-Madry, honorary treasurer George Freeman, council members Jim Haggarty, John Keeton, and Geoff Mitchell. It was noted that George Freeman’s elevation to treasurer meant there was a vacancy for community/vocational service chairman for the forthcoming year. It was noted that the presidency for 2018-19 will be handed over to Barry Thompson on 29 June 2018, the president-elect (senior vice-president) is Nigel Metham, and the president nominee (junior-vice-president) is Rob Wadd.


2.     Annual Reports


The annual report from president Peter Barr, honorary secretary John Hare, and the annual reports from community/vocational service (George Freeman), international service (Andrew Elliott), probus liaison officer David Windle, and communication PR (Geoff Mitchell), were all noted and approved.


3.     Treasurers Report


The treasurer’s report from treasurer Alan Clarke, which revealed that the club’s finances were sound, was approved. It was agreed that the annual subscription should remain unchanged at £120, and that Mike Hadfield be appointed as the club's honorary auditor.


4.     Club Representatives


It was agreed that the representatives to attend District Council on behalf of the club were the president and honorary secretary, with the deputies being the senior and junior vice presidents.


5.     Honorary Members


It was formally agreed that honorary membership of the club for Rt Hon P A M Cavendish, KCVO, CBE, (12th Duke of Devonshire), rotarian Peter Strelley, and former long-serving member Jim Boden, be extended for a further 12 months.


Business Meeting 


1.       Afternoon Tea Party


Rotarian George Freeman reported on the successful afternoon tea party held for residents from local care homes, which the club had hosted at the Olde House on Wednesday 16 May 2018.  Entertainment had been provided by musical duo, Ken and Rita Taylor.  The president thanked George Freeman for once again organizing an enjoyable event, much appreciated by the guests in attendance.


   Musical duo Ken & Rita Taylor with president Peter Barr


2.       Future plans for the Club


Past-president Mike Cudzich Madry highlighted urgent issues, mentioned in the annual report, that after this year's high-water mark of club achievements, were expected to impact on the future well-being of the club. It was noted that many of the club’s existing high-profile projects were under serious threat through either lack of active manpower, a resulting lack of future finance, or both. Even weekly club meetings may need to be adjusted to take account of reduced attendance, reduced number of active members able to take on duties, rising costs of regular after-lunch speakers.  A bright note was the success of the Satellite Club of busy younger people from a different generation, which could provide some solutions for long-standing projects, and a future Rotary legacy in the town, that is if proper succession plans are put in place.  After a short discussion it was recognized that the future of the club needed to be discussed by members at the next business meeting scheduled for Friday 8 June 2018.  Past-president Cyril Bates urged members to read the annual report on communication and PR which sets out the key issues which need to be addressed urgently by the club.


Next Meeting


The meeting closed after the closing toast was proposed by past-president Mike Cudzich-Madry.  Members were urged to attend the next club meeting on Friday 25 May 2018 as the club’s Citizen of the Year, Andrew Davies, was being presented with the prestigious Rotary International in Great Britain and Ireland (RIBI) Citizen of the Year Award, by District Governor Michael Longdon, on behalf of RIBI President 2017-18 Denis Spiller. To ensure a good gathering, member’s wives and Satellite Club members were invited to attend, and local Rotary club’s in the Cresswell Group had also been invited. Those attending the presentation only should arrive for 1.20pm on that day. Details of any guests attending for lunch should be notified in advance to secretary John Hare.  Duty rotarian is David Dolman.